The United States Chess Championship, 1845-1996 2nd Ed softcover - Soltis

SKU: 7161
Sale price$35.96 USD Regular price$39.95 USD
Sold out

Chess House Guarantee

  • Easy parts. When buying a chess set online, we've got you covered. With us, you have easy access to parts for years so your set is always playable.
  • Safe, timely arrival. Every order is thoughtfully packed. Plus, delivery time is clear from checkout until it reaches your door.
  • Peace of mind. Easy access to our friendly experts and 90 day, no-hassle returns.

That's why 21,522 people rate Chess House 4.8 out of 5 stars.

About The The United States Chess Championship, 1845-1996 2nd Ed softcover - Soltis

This thoroughly updated and revised edition of the highly acclaimed 1986 reference work provides a definitive history of all championship events in the United States through 1995. Both the games and the occasions are covered in depth, including biographical details, descriptive settings, anecdotes, tournament drama, unusual games, and grandmaster analysis. Filled with quotations from the winners, losers and many others, this is an authoritative and indispensable volume.

  • Grandmaster Andrew Soltis is the author of dozens of chess books, including Soviet Chess 1917-1991 (2000: 2000 United States Chess Federation Historical Book of the Year), The United States Chess Championship (1997), Frank Marshall (1993; 1994 British Chess Federation Book of the Year) and The Book of Chess Lists (1984). The eight-time champion of the world-famous Marshall Chess Club, he is an editor and journalist at the New York Post and a columnist for Chess Life. He lives in New York City.
  • Coauthor Gene H. McCormick, is the owner of a magazine publishing company in Park Ridge, Illinois.
  • 247 Pages
  • Paperback
  • Publisher: McFarland
  • Published: 2006
  • "This handsome retrospective is written with reverence and brio" Library Journal
  • "Detailed analysis" Choice
  • "Chess history brought alive...entertaining and fascinating" Chess Life

Product Specs

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet